Healdsburg Prune Packers Claim 2021 CCL Crown, Edge SLO Blues 8-7 in State Championship Final

| August 7, 2021

LINCOLN, CA – In the final game of their 100th Anniversary Season, the No. 1 Healdsburg Prune Packers knocked off the No. 4 San Luis Obispo Blues to win the 2021 CCL State Championship, 8-7. In the eyes of Packers Head Coach Joey Gomes, there was only one way to describe the moment.

“It’s magical,” Gomes said. “Just absolutely magical to do it in the 100th year.”

Healdsburg third baseman Braydon Runion (Texas Tech) earned Offensive MVP honors for the tournament, going 10-for-17 (.588) with one home run and nine RBI across four games. Charlie Hurley (Southern California) won Pitcher of the Tournament after allowing just three hits and no runs while striking out six in Healdsburg’s 12-1 win over the No. 2 Arroyo Seco Saints in the semifinals.

The Blues made a strong push early. With two outs in the first inning, Mason Grotto (Fresno State) and AJ Esperanza (Cuesta) walked in consecutive at bats. Trey Clarkson (Utah) stepped to the plate and rocked one over the left field wall to make it 3-0. It was Clarkson’s fourth home run of the playoffs.

With the Packers going down early, Francis McDonough (Wichita State) entered the game in the second and struck out two Blues to keep Healdsburg within three.

The Packers parlayed McDonough’s dominant inning into their first offensive burst. Austin Bost (Texas A&M) got on with a double, and Cam Blake (Texas Rio Grande Valley) sent a two-run blast to right field. Torin Montgomery (Missouri) singled in the next at bat, and Runion got him home to tie the game 3-3 entering the bottom of the third.

“[Gomes] preaches ‘heartbeat,’ just trying to control your nerves and adrenaline,” Runion said. “I get some 0-2 counts, and I’ll just step out, regroup and just say, ‘heartbeat,’ and then just get right back in there and do my job.”

The Blues loaded the bases in the fourth with two outs, giving Ruben Mercado (San Jose State) a prime opportunity to retake the lead. He worked an 0-2 count up to 2-2, but McDonough won the battle. The righty struck out Mercado, and was so fired up that he was barking in celebration all the way back to the dugout.

“It’s a cliché with championship groups, but these guys love the game so much,” Gomes said. “That McDonough kid, I really look forward to following him when he goes back to Wichita State. What a special arm.”

The Packers fed off that energy right away, as Ryan Targac (Texas A&M) led off the fifth with a solo home run to put them in the lead. Blake followed up with his third hit of the night, and Montgomery walked to get a second runner on. Runion then made the game 5-3, ripping the first pitch he saw into right center field.

The Packers loaded the bases after that, and this time it was Zac McCleve (Utah) who got out of the jam. McCleve struck out Ian McMillan (Houston) with a nasty off-speed pitch outside the zone to end the inning.

The Blues responded quickly in the bottom of the frame. Esperanza drove home Grotto after the third baseman’s leadoff single, cutting the deficit to one.

In the sixth with two outs, Mercado doubled to tie the game 5-5, scoring Ryan Cermak (Illinois State). The tie didn’t last long though, as McMillan took the lead back for the Packers at the top of the seventh, ripping a single to right to score Runion.

Hance Smith (Cal Berkeley), the walk-off hero from their quarterfinal matchup against the Conejo Oaks, came in to pinch hit in the eighth and promptly smacked a double down the third base line. Montgomery was intentionally walked, setting up Blake Burke (Tennessee). He cranked a deep ball to center field, allowing the two runners to score and increase the lead to 8-5.

The Blues threatened to even things up after loading the bases in the bottom of the eighth. Grotto knocked a single to center field, scoring Austin Kretzschmar (Stanford) and Nick Costello (Cal San Diego) to make it 8-7. The tying run, Cermak, was safe at third, but Grotto attempted to reach second and got tagged out to end the inning.

With the Blues bullpen taxed, Cermak took the mound in the top of the ninth, despite never having pitched at the collegiate level. He struck out two of three batters to keep the Blues within one.

Spencer Hynes (Wichita State) came out in the ninth to close. The lefty struck out the final two batters of the game to secure Healdsburg the championship title.

“We got some dogs on our team. Nobody ever gave up, nobody gave in,” Hurley said. “Even after the first loss, [Gomes] was like, ‘I know this isn’t you guys. Let’s just get back to playing our game,’ and that’s what we did.”


  • Joe Pohoryles, CCL Reporter
  • Angela Martinez, CCL Photographer
  • Brandon Lin, CCL Videographer
Similar Posts More News
Card image cap
Football / July 10, 2024
College Baseball’s Premier Players Featured at 2024 CCL Showcase Game July 17 at MLB Youth Academy

(LOS ANGELES, CA) The California Collegiate League’s annual midsummer classic—the CCL Showcase Game—is coming to the MLB Youth Academy in Compton, Calif. on Wednesday, July 17. First pitch is scheduled for 7 p.m. PST. Catch the action live on Bally Sports Regional Networks across the country. Veteran play-by-play broadcaster and radio host, Chris Sylvester, and […]

Read More
Card image cap
Football / April 24, 2024
California Collegiate League Announces 2024 Summer Schedule

(LOS ANGELES, CA) After celebrating the league’s 30th season in 2023, the California Collegiate League is pleased to announce the 2024 season schedule. Every league member will play a minimum of 30 league games. Opening Night of this year’s campaign is slated for Thursday, June 6, as 10 clubs will be in action: In the […]

Read More
Card image cap
Football / August 17, 2023
California Collegiate League Announces 2023 CCL 30 All-League Team

SELECTIONS BY POSITION CATCHERSBrendan Durfee – CONolan Wilson – LPOmar Gastelum – SS FIRST BASEJake Tandy – SMRyan Brome – WCCEamonn Lance – SBF SECOND BASEHunter Dorraugh – HPPRyan Ellis – WCCConnor McGuire – OCR THIRD BASERaider Tello – ASJeff Hoffman – SM SHORTSTOPKamau Neighbor – MLBMatt King – WCC UTILITYZach Chamizo – LPWill Rogers […]

Read More
Card image cap
Football / August 7, 2023
Three-Peat in CCL 30: Prune Packers Defeat Saints 8-5, Win Third Straight CCL State Championship

By CCL Reporter Sean Brennan (THOUSAND OAKS, CA) – For the third straight year, the CCL State Championship belongs to the ‘Burg. After dropping the first contest of the best-of-three CCL 30 State Championship Series against the Arroyo Seco Saints, the Healdsburg Prune Packers pulled off a gutsy, come-from-behind victory in Game 2, setting the […]

Read More